Nostalgia

This was seriously awesome.

2013-09-21 21.34.45-1

2013-09-21 22.54.28 - cropped

Those are my dear old friends, Amy and Emily (known to many as The Indigo Girls). I remember the first time I heard them, back in the mid-90s. I was instantly drawn to their music and wanted to sing along all day. Over the past 20 years (yikes!) I’ve gone through phases of listening to them more and less, and in the past several years my tastes have turned more towards this. But when a friend of mine spotted an announcement about an upcoming show a few months ago and asked if anyone wanted to go, I was the first to put my hand up.

The show was amazing. The Indigo Girls have been playing concerts and writing great music for more than 25 years, but you’d never have guessed it from the amount of energy they poured into their performance on Saturday. They seemed relaxed and happy, and it was easy to imagine hanging out with them (and to forget that they are famous big shots). I’ve seen them play before, but this was the first time I’ve seen them without a band, and I’m holding tight to the beautiful memory of hearing just their voices and guitars (and banjos and mandolins).

I happened to notice that they’re coming back this way in January, playing a small show in Bellingham. Anyone want to go? 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nostalgia

  1. mjho@rogers.com says:

    Hey guys,

    I have tickets to their show in a couple of weeks. I too was so excited when I saw they were coming to Ottawa and jumped at the chance to see them live. I am going with a couple of girlfriends, so I am hoping for a great night out.

    Cheers,

    Jen

    ________________________________

    • thechumsleys says:

      Hi Jen! Enjoy your evening out! If it’s anything like the Vancouver concert, you’ll have a fabulous time. They played a great mix of older and newer songs, which made me so happy (I tried “cramming” for the concert by listening to their two latest albums for a few days beforehand, but it wasn’t necessary to enjoy the show). They even played Kid Fears – too bad Michael Stipe wasn’t around, but my friend and I belted out his part. 🙂

Leave a Reply

