Waffles

The origin of my waffle maker is clouded in the mists of time. I imagine I must have gotten it during one of my co-op terms while I was an undergrad, or maybe I got it shortly after moving to Vancouver. At any rate, it’s old enough that it belongs to the set of things we jokingly refer to as my dowry. For some reason, I’ve always kept it in its original box, complete with the fitted Styrofoam. We go through spells of eating waffles pretty regularly, so it’s not like it has spent its life tucked away unused in the back of a cupboard.  I think keeping the box had more to do with the fact that the waffle recipe I use is the one that came in the instruction pamphlet, and keeping the whole box was the only way I’d be certain not to lose the recipe.  Can you see where this is going?

A few months ago I decided that the tattered box was really not doing any service to the state of our kitchen cupboards and decided to toss it. I put the recipe somewhere clever (I assume). The next time we went to make waffles, I realized I had no idea where that clever place was! I checked my binder of printed and clipped recipes and my notebook of handwritten recipes, but no luck. In frustration (and not wanting to wait for the delicious-sounding yeasted waffles I keep reading about) I turned to my faithful Canadian Living recipe book, certain that their recipe would be an acceptable replacement. Lo and behold, what did I find on the waffle recipe page, but a handwritten copy of the original recipe! I must have written it there years ago as insurance against the day I knew would come when I lost the instruction pamphlet. The day was saved, and Miles had his first waffle.

Since then, I’ve discovered that replacing half the flour with whole wheat flour is just fine (barely noticeable, and if anything, provides some extra flavour). With that little nutritional boost, these waffles aren’t particularly indulgent in their own right; it’s what you put on top that makes the difference. Miles and I eat most of our waffles with a blueberry peach compote and yogurt, while Mr. Chumsley favours prodigious quantities of butter and maple syrup. However, Miles learnt the word “syrup” this past weekend (it sounded more like “fubup”, but his meaning was all too clear), so perhaps the next time we have waffles he’ll be more like Dad.

Waffles

  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 Tbsp granulated sugar
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp melted butter

Beat egg whites until stiff peaks foam. Set aside.

Beat egg yolks slightly, and add milk slowly, beating until incorporated. Add dry ingredients and mix until smooth. You can get fancy and sift the dry ingredients together first, or cheat as I do: add the first cup of flour, part of the second cup, then blend the baking powder, sugar and salt into the remaining flour, add it, and proceed to mix the dry ingredients into the milk and eggs.

Fold in the egg whites and melted butter. The batter will be quite thick. Scoop it onto your waffle maker, greasing it if you think it’s necessary (I never do). A scant cup fills our big round waffle maker nicely, but your mileage may vary depending on the style of waffle maker you have. Cook until steam stops coming out, about 5 min. It’s better to check too early than too late!

Keep finished waffles warm on a cookie sheet in a 200F degree oven so that you can all sit down and enjoy breakfast together.

½ a recipe is great for 2 adults who don’t want to totally pig out; with Miles on the scene we make a full recipe and usually end up with 1 waffle left over, which makes a great snack the next day.

Blueberry Peach Compote

I picked a lot of blueberries this summer, and in a moment of weakness bought 20 lbs of peaches of at the farmers’ market. (What can I say? They were a great deal!) I froze a lot of berries, and decided to freeze (rather than can) the peaches. Freezing the peaches worked really well; I peeled them and cut them into eighths, froze the sections on cookie sheets and then bagged the frozen pieces.

Put 6-8 slices of peach into a small saucepan, along with about a cup of blueberries. Put the lid on, and slowly bring to a simmer, stirring and mashing occasionally to get the fruit to release its juice. Simmer with the lid on while you make the waffles. Take the lid off and increase heat towards the end to thicken it up.

Dollop on waffles with plain or vanilla yogurt.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

