Curried Zucchini Soup

Lunch is often my least favourite meal. I eat one of two things for breakfast almost every day (either oatmeal or this delicious treat), and I love experimenting with new recipes for dinner. But lunch is kind of a no man’s land. I don’t really want to eat the same thing every day, but I also don’t have the time or patience to make something new for lunch. I used to eat leftovers, but these days leftovers are precious time-savers, so we save them for dinner.  I’m extremely lucky to have an awesome husband who makes me a sandwich every morning, so I really can’t complain, and I’m not going hungry while I dither about my lunch conundrum. However, sandwiches aren’t something the little guy eats, so I’m still left trying to find something for him.  Enter soup, the saviour of the day!

This recipe comes from a friend of mine who made it one day when Miles and I visited for lunch a few months ago. I had brought something for Miles to eat just to be safe, but he seemed quite interested in what I was having. In the spirit of having him eat whatever we eat, I gave him a spoonful and he was hooked! I’ve made it several times since then, and have now settled on my own variation which has more protein and is a bit thicker (and is therefore easier for Miles to feed himself).

Curried Zucchini Soup

(Original recipe is from the Ontario Heart and Stroke Foundation)

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 apples, peeled, cored and chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 to 3 tsp curry powder (depends on how hot your curry powder is and who the soup is for)
  • 2 cups chicken or vegetable broth
  • 1/2 – 1 cup red lentils
  • 3 or more cups diced (unpeeled) zucchini (I usually use about 400g)
  • 1/4 cup brown rice

Heat olive oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Sauté apples and onion for 5 minutes or until softened. Sprinkle with curry powder; cook, stirring, for a few seconds. Add broth and bring to boil. Add lentils, zucchini and rice. Cover and simmer over low heat until lentils, zucchini and rice are very soft, about 40 minutes. Add water as needed to keep it from sticking to the pot. The more lentils you use, the more water you’ll need.

Blend with an immersion blender and adjust consistency if necessary with more water. Season with salt and pepper to taste. This tastes great served with a blob of yogurt on top.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Curried Zucchini Soup

  1. thelegaltart says:

    I am not a great lover of lunch either, soup sounds fantastic!

Leave a Reply

