Chili

Well, well. I seem to be the picture of domestic bliss today. Miles is napping, the house is reasonably tidy, I’ve got bread rising, and my knitting has reached a point where it needs stuffing (which is stored next to Miles’s room, and I’m not going to rootle around to get it and risk disturbing this peace).  The only thing I can think of that I should be doing is posting something to this darn blog, so here I am!

The following recipe for chili comes from my cousin. I am not sure how I got it, as (unfortunately) we are not in touch very often, but I do think of her whenever I make it. I am sure there are chili purists out there who would scoff at some of its “inauthentic” ingredients (balsamic vinegar? Worcestershire sauce?), but they don’t know the delight of watching your toddler scarf down multiple bowls of goodness. Currently Miles is insisting on eating everything with a fork (oatmeal, pieces of cheese, toast – EVERYTHING!), so this dinner makes us both happy.

Karen’s Chili

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 lb ground meat (we use turkey)
  • 2 bell red, orange or yellow peppers, diced
  • 2 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 1-2 cups of frozen corn
  • 1 tsp each basil, oregano, cumin
  • 2 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 large tin of tomatoes
  • 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • Salt and pepper

Heat oil in a large saucepan and cook onion and garlic until softened. Add the meat and cook through, breaking into small pieces. If you’ve used turkey, there won’t be any fat to drain; if you use beef, drain the fat. Add all the veggies and cook 5 minutes. Add the spices and cook 2 minutes more. Add the remaining ingredients and simmer about 20 minutes.

Note: This freezes really well. If you’re not going to freeze it, you can add some extra veggies like mushrooms and zucchini, but we find that they don’t have a very nice texture after being frozen.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chili

  1. Karen says:

    I’m so glad you guys like this recipe! It’s not that authentic, but if you’re talking about family favourites, it is authentic all the way. Lucky you having a family that will enjoy zucchini and mushrooms in chili! They would be great additions, if not for the chorus of complaints at mealtime. I haven’t made this in a while – your post reminds me that we’re overdue for a batch. Thanks!
    PS Thanks for my 15 minutes of fame! ;0

  2. thechumsleys says:

    You’re welcome! I can’t believe I didn’t link to your blog – what a missed opportunity. I just had a look and you are making really beautiful cards these days. 🙂 http://thedaleystamper.blogspot.com/

  3. Pingback: Curry Base | The Chumsleys

Leave a Reply

